Best Universities in Finance


Top 20 Universities in Financial Economics

1 University of Chicago USA
2 Harvard University USA
3 University of Pennsylvania USA
4 New York University (NYU) USA
5 Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) USA
6 Northwestern University USA
7 Stanford University USA
8 University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA) USA
9 Columbia University USA
10 Princeton University USA
11 Ohio State University USA
12 London School of Economics (LSE) UK
13 Duke University USA
14 Université Toulouse I (Sciences Sociales) France
15 University of Rochester USA
16 University of Southern California USA
17 University of Texas at Austin USA
18 University of California at San Diego USA
19 University of California at Berkeley USA
20 Yale U USA




The ranking is based on citation analysis by econphd•net (covering 63 journals over roughly ten years, 1993-2003), it is explained here.

For a list of 10 good, popular books on finance, go here.

121 thoughts on “Best Universities in Finance

    • Hi Anuj,
      Please send me your academic profile on my mail id – smita@qbixacademia.com
      Or else you can call me on 9763082333
      There are many universities that i can give you. Please mail me the details on my mail id , your 10th, 12th and graduation.

      Regards,
      SMITA

      • Hi,

        I have 3yrs of IT Exp in if finance Background projects.MY acds are
        10th–87
        12th-89
        B.tech-85.

        please mail me the best colleges which accept GRE score and any chance of schol also.

        Thanks in advance

        Regards
        Nikhil

      • hi smitha,
        I ‘m also looking for colleges offering ms finance in US. Please would you let me know.

        Regards ,
        sarah

  1. hi… i dont know much about US but if u r lookin for uk.. u can try lancaster,bristol,edinburg,manchester,exeter,nottingham,birmingham..u don require work-ex but yes..good marks.. even m applying there..tc n good luck

  2. hi can u mail me top universities of uk for the the programme master in finance
    n is australia or scotland good place to study master in fnance suggest me sum universities please………..

  3. Would you have any latest update in the ranking table.
    I wish to find good universities for my son to be a quant finance.

    wish you can give advice/update

    thanks,

  4. could you please advice if there are fullscholarships for masters in economics for kenyan students wishing to study in us

    • Hello,
      I have completed MBA Finance in 2008. Currently I am working with a commercial bank as credit analyst.

      I wanted to know about the reputation of Princeton university for its Masters in Finance (MFin).
      Please provide your opinion on the same.

  5. Please I want to know the best university in london offering masters in finance that does not require a 2nd class lower division grade and the tuition fee is not more than 10500 pounds.

  6. I have done my Masters in Computer Science and want another Masters. My interest is in Finance. I am currently working in a Bank in trade services department. Can anyone guide me on selecting good schools in US for Finance and the preliminary requirements for getting into a good school.

  7. hi, which would be the top universities in Canada for Masters in Finance? also i hav no work experience.
    i would really appreciate ur help.
    thank u

  8. hey does anybody has info as to which Unvi in UK are good for Ms in Finance…also i do have overall 5 yrs of exp (which includes 2 yrs post grad)….would be of really help if any one can send this info…Also would like to know abt Unvi having Ms in finance in US….will US be better or UK..? as general opinion is US..would like to have some more opinions on it..plse mail n the mentioned id…

    thanks a ton

    Mahesh

  9. please can you let me know about the tution fees of the masters in finanace courses in various US and UK universities?..and the ones that do not require a work experience or a commerce background

  10. I will appreciate if u can mail me top universties in US and UK for masters in finance. I dont have work expercience, will it make any difference. thanx in advance

    • hi I’m melissa I’ll have the possibility to go to US but I need to find masters in finance that are not an MBA and not required work experience
      If you have some information please let me know

  11. hi if it is possible can u mail me top universities in uk for master in finance and list them as well please?Thank u very much indeed…xxx

  12. Hi guys!!!!!
    I am a beginner in this field. I will be graduating in June’09 from IIT-BHU. Please tell me options where i can apply as a fresher. Also please tell me the way to apply.
    I am planning to pursue MBA in finance.
    Thankya…

  13. Hi,

    The best unis for Masters in finance in order as per the latest rankings:
    LSE,LSBF, Warwick, Durham, Burmingham, Lancaster, Edinburg, Exeter, Imperial,Manchester.

    Most of them do not require a GMAT, but having it can cover some of the loopholes you might have. Work ex not required, but its a big ace if you have relevant work ex. A domestic masters could also be a big boost. BUT AN IELTS OF 7 AND ABOVE IS A MUST.

    • Hi!
      I am studying at Uni of Exeter, doing bachelor degree in Finance and Accounting. What I can tell u that the uni is quite good,according to recent rankings Exeter was ranked as top uni in the UK. I just wanted to say my opinion regarding u list of unis u provided. I agree on all of them, as I researched a lot before joining uni, but I can tell u for sure that LSBF is crap. This a money making uni and this uni usually accept those who couldn’t join any other uni. I know this as there many people who study there and say that. Its not even uni, its like a college to be honest…..and regarding IELTS 7…this uni doesn’t require that. They may do that officially, but they will accept u in most cases.

  14. hey, can u pls tell me best places for masters in finance in us n australia which require no work ex…..and wghat are d mandatory examinations for it when i dont come frm a finance background…thanks

  15. Hi there, could you please let me know which are the best universities for finance in Australia? Many thanks in advance.

  16. Please send me and e-mail the top universities in “Master in finance” in American, UK and Australia

    Thank you very much

  17. Hi everybody!

    Is there somebody who could find an accurate list of the best universities in the field of finance in the world in 2008?

    If yes, could you email the informations to me: Smirnoff_69@hotmail.fr.

    Thanks you very much in advance!
    Take Care

  18. Hi. I have been accepted in 3 universities in UK for the MSc in finance. University of Warwick, University of Edinburgh and University of Bristol. Wich one would you recommend? thanks,

  19. A colleague of mine writes,

    “I don’t know a lot about the current department at Edinburgh (I can find out, if you like) but Warwick and Bristol remain very strong. Bristol also has excellent connections in the City and Bank of England, which assist many of their graduates in gaining subsequent employment. At least they did, prior to the current recession!”

  20. Thanks. However, Edinburgh is much better ranked than Bristol. I will choose between Edinburgh and Warwick. I like the program in Edinburgh, it has more quantitative content. But I heard Warwick is more prestigious. Both universities are CFA partners. Which one do you recommend?

    Thanks,

  21. Hello all,
    I am looking for best Universities in US for computational Finance for doctoral degree. Can you please help me out to find the list ? or can you please share your experience and knowledge ?
    email-
    rajanpaudel@yahoo.com

  22. i am an engg. student and will be completing my degree in 2010.
    plz tell me the best university in doing masters in finance and how to apply t5here and which exams i have to give

  23. Hi there,

    I’m John from Singapore. May I know what’s the top 10 University offering a Master in Finance? I am considering a good Master in Finance/Financial Economics in either UK or US. I have only got one year of working experience in engineering firm but had got a bachelor degree with good honours in engineering. Please advice and thanks for you help! johnyang83@yahoo.com

  24. hey!please i want to know the best universities in the US in which i can pursue ma Masters in finace, am currently a finalist at the Tanzania state university-Udsm.

  25. hi to all,
    i am looking for the best universities in USA for master studies in Finiancial Menagement
    thanks in advense

  26. hi,

    i was wondering if someone could email me a list of top masters of finance programs worldwide… or can someone direct me to a site where top programs are listed.

    Thank you,
    Chuck Ganley

  27. hi!
    i did my engineering in computers(summer-2009) and i got 59.8%. i m interested in MS in finance fr very good US or UK college. i have no experience n will take admission in fall 2010. My quants is very good and i am National Talent Search Awardee 2002.Can i get a good college on basis of that. what will be the GRE n TOEFEL score for very good college.
    thank you
    Ashish Nimje

  28. I am Rwandese.I did my bachelor in economicc and I got 84%.I am looking for the best universities in USA for master studies in economic policy.I have no experience and I will take admission in fall 2010.Can I get a good university in which I will study full time?Please inform me about the duration and the cost of the studies.

    Thank you.

    NYIRANDEGEYA Genereuse

  29. Can someone Update this site?! Its outdated…I mean the rankings are outdated…..Now IE b-school ranks 1 according to Financial Times and not University of Chicago…..

  30. hi i am anitya. I have done my bachelors in Management and am looking forward to do a masters degree in finance have worked with Deustche bank for one year and currently working with a smaller firm . I have secured 72 % throughout and in my Sem year of graduation i have scored 78 %. Could you please suggest top uni for masters in finance or MBA . please please advice

  31. hi,i dont know how i can apply in usa or Canada University for MASTER FINANCE,plz if u can,tel me,and help.
    or how i can find Finance professor and tell him/her to help me for apply
    thanks

  32. which university is best according to u for msc in finance in uk from the list and number it according to priority
    lancaster,manchester,warwick,cass,southampton,exeter,york,bristol.
    please reply at the earliest lara smith..

  33. Pls mail me the university that does not require job experience for Msc in finance or financial economics. is there any different with the msc for finance in u.k and u.s? which one better?
    thanks before

  34. I am interested to know the latest(2009-2010) top-20 ranking of US-Universities subject to offering Economics and Finace Programs.PLease provide the Program-wise ranking.

  35. hi i am anitya. I have done my bachelors in Management and am looking forward to do a masters degree in finance have worked with Deustche bank for one year and currently working with a smaller firm . I have secured 72 % throughout and in my Sem year of graduation i have scored 78 %. Could you please suggest top uni for masters in finance or MBA . please please advice

    • For an MBA with a specialization in finance, the two top ones are probably Wharton and University of Chicago. If you want to do a Master’s degree in Europe, take a look e.g. at University of Cambridge Judge Business Schools’ Master of Finance. Alternatively, Tilburg University in the Netherlands has on of the strongest economics departments in Europe, and they offer some interesting finance programs.

  36. Hi Lars,
    I am interested in doing MS(finance) from reputed university.But I got no experience in finance field.Besides that my work experience is in IT domain.Please guide me.
    Looking fwd to ur reply

  37. hi i have just finished my UG. i want know whether it is better to work for 2 or 3 years and then do my masters in finance or do my masters in finance straight away.

    • Hi Aslam,
      For MS course no work experience is required. There are many good universities offering MSc in Finance. If you want the list of university please send me your academics marks on my id.
      smita@qbixacademia.com or else you can call me on 88888 10204
      Thanks and Regards,
      smita

  38. Attn: Aslam

    Aslam, it would be more appropriate for to have a bit of expereince before getting into master program as the attained expereince would rather help you in the masters program in terms of grasping concepts in more realistic way and in addition to it most of the top universities of US,UK and other developed countries prefer students with some expereince.

  39. i have done my MBA(finance) in India,
    now i wanted to Msc.in finance and accountancy please send me list of good university name as well as any other financial course in the field of finance on my mail

    mail Id:-rdjasani2@gmail.com

  40. Pingback: Princeton VS Yale

  41. Wow! This post is really very appreciable. I think some new things if you add to your post like current affairs will increase It is popularity. your post is very advantageous for me and very good. Thanks a lot. I have secured 72 % throughout and in my Sem year of graduation i have scored 78 %. Could you please suggest top uni for masters in finance or MBA . please please advice

  42. hallo, i a=have finish my degree in business administration in accounts this year may u help me to now good university in united states of America that offer master in business administration.

  43. I am currently pursuing my UG course, which is in Computer Science. I want to know if it is advisable to follow it up with a Masters in Finance. I do not intend to take a break for job between the two.
    If it is advisable,I would like to know the universities where i should apply for,in the US.

    • Hi Rucha,

      This is the rite time to apply to the universities. I hope you are aware of USA system. As they take more than six month for application process. i can send you the university list on your mail id. so please send your academics marks on my mail id. smita@qbixacademia.com or else you can call me on 8888810204
      Thanks and Regards,
      smita

  44. Hi,
    Pls can you list for me the top universities in International Economics and Finance.
    Thank you very much

  45. hello every one
    i am also looking for university or institute for pursuing masters in finance.so kindly get some info.
    and addition to this i don’t have good or sound background in maths and please suggest me a university
    and also there is another constraint is that the T.Fees
    must in between 6000-8000K only.

    Kindly help me

    • Hi Sarat,
      This is the right time to go ahead withthe application process. Only few universities are offering this course in JAN 2011 intake. Before sending you the list of university i would like to know how much percentage you got in your academics, please mail me all the details on my id smita@qbixacademia.com once i receive iti will send you the list of universities. For scholarship also i can help you. you can call me on 8888810204

      Thanks and Regards,
      SMITA

    • Hi Sarat,
      This is the right time to make your application process. Before sending you the university list i require your academics marks, please send me the details on my mail id – smita@qbixacademia.com
      Only few universities are offering this course in JAN 2011 intake. You can send me all your queries on my mail id.

      Thanks and Regards,
      SMITA

  46. Hi. Please ill like to know what schools have scholarship for its students. Also, if my first degree was taught in english, is is important I do IETL? Thank you

  47. hi,i m doing masters in economics.but i was intersted in doing ms in financial economics from a reputed university…so it will be great if anybody can help me in naming some of the best universities in usa,uk and paris whare work experience in not that required.my email id is debolinasaha111@yahoo.co.in.
    thanks…

  48. Dear Student,

    This is to inform you that University of Essex is going to conduct spot admissions for September, 2011 intake on 17th of this month between 11:30 AM – 2:30 PM. So be ready with your documents and send me the scan copies on smita@qbixacademia.com.
    If you are having any queries you can call me.

    Kindest Regards,
    SMITA
    ( 88888 10204 )

  49. Dear Student,

    This is to inform you that University of DURHAM( TOP UNIVERSITY IN UK ) is going to conduct spot admissions for September, 2011 intake on 15th of this month between 11:30 AM – 2:30 PM. So be ready with your documents and send me the scan copies on smita@qbixacademia.com.
    Even you can check the ranking of the university from following link.
    http://www.timeshighereducation.co.uk/world-university-rankings/2010-2011/top-200.html
    If you are having any queries you can call me.

    Thanks and Regards,
    SMITA

  50. Dear Student,

    This is to inform you that University of DURHAM( TOP UNIVERSITY IN UK ) is going to conduct spot admissions for September, 2011 intake on 15th of this month between 11:30 AM – 2:30 PM. So be ready with your documents and send me the scan copies on smita@qbixacademia.com.

    If you are having any queries you can call me.

    Thanks and Regards,
    SMITA ( 88888 10204 )

    • hi,
      could u plz send me top universities for ms in finance & detail abt that universities…
      thanx
      my email id :rohitkarpe77@gmail.com

  51. hi,
    hey smita could u send me top university for ms in finance & detail abt that university…plz
    thanx
    my email id :rohitkarpe77@gmail.com

      • hey smita even i m intrested in universities in us/uk.i have an experience of 2 years….can u mail me the list on foreverswati
        @gmail.com

  52. Hi
    Can i get help for the sponsorship in Masters of finance in the recognised Universities in The USA or Canada??I would like to join by Next year(2011)
    M from Tanzania
    Any help??

  53. Dear All,
    Greetings from QBIX ACADEMIA !!!
    Staffordshire University, Masters Duration 28 months, One year Industrial Placement Option. And Fees@8950 GBP.
    Awarded the university status in 1992

    · Located in England; has 2 campuses in Stafford and Stoke-on-Trent
    · Near by Cities: (Birmingham – 24 Miles), (Manchester – 49 Miles)

    · Courses accredited by professional UK and International bodies including CISCO, CIM and the British Psychological Society…
    · Multicultural environment with over 16,000 students

    Course Details:

    MSc with 1 year Industrial Placement: Most of the Computing/Engineering courses have the option of industrial placement in the 2 year so course duration is 2 years (1year Study + 1Year Placement). Offer letter will be for 28 months duration.

    Fees: 9950GBP MSc courses

    Scholarship: 1000 GBP for all international students

    300 GBP for full fees payment discount

    Entry Requirements:

    ·56% in Graduation
    ·10+2 English Marks – 65% (or) IELTS 6.0 (or) TOEFL: IBT 79,

    Some Important courses which offer Industrial Placement
    MSc Mechanical Engineering
    MSc Electrical Engineering
    MSc Electronic Engineering
    MSc Mechatronic
    MSc Telecommunication Engineering
    MSc Medical Engineering
    MSc Automotive Engineering
    MSc Computer Science
    MSc Network Computing

    Regards,

    SMITA

  54. Pingback: grants

  55. Pingback: about black currant oil

  56. Pingback: Finance

  57. Pingback: knjigovodstvo fimak

Leave a Reply

